Starting July 1, drivers caught in violation of the law could face a $100 fine. The citation increases to a $200 fine if the violation results in an accident.

Tennessee law banning handheld cellphone use while driving takes effect July 1

THP urges drivers to prepare for hands-free law going into effect July 1st

Treehouse's picture

Old car?

What's my best option for a 2011 Mazda 3?

bizgrrl's picture

Yeah, there are some

Yeah, there are some universal stand-alone Bluetooth kits available. I'd make sure it's returnable since you will want to try out the adapter.

Here's one from Motorola.

jbr's picture

A little old, so may be

A little old, so may be something better ...

Hands free older cars

Knoxoasis's picture

I put a Sony head unit in my

I put a Sony head unit in my gfs 2007 Ford edge. Now she has a 7" touch screen, Apple car play and Android auto and a mic for hands free texting and calling. Whole setup with install was about $ 500. It's pretty easy to retrofit older cars

Treehouse's picture

Thanks

for the suggestions except going to Walmart and spending $500!!

At a friend's suggestion, I'm getting this which for her works just great.

(link...)

Rachel's picture

Before I had a car with

Before I had a car with Bluetooth I just pulled over when I really needed to make a call. Still probably the best way.

bizgrrl's picture

I agree.

I agree.

barker's picture

hands-free?

Hands-free doesn't mean distraction-free.

(link...)

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.

TN Progressive

TN Politics

Knox TN Today

Local TV News

News Sentinel

State News

Local .GOV

Wire Reports

Lost Medicaid Funding

To date, the failure to expand Medicaid/TennCare has cost the State of Tennessee ? in lost federal funding. (Source)

Search and Archives